Personal Injury Cases
Personal injury law involves individuals who are injured as a result of someone else’s wrong-doing or due to an accident that affects you directly. In most cases, the individual must provide proof against the other party who is at fault for what occurred. An experienced competent lawyer will be able to work for you and handle even the most difficult cases, negotiating against insurance companies on your behalf to obtain compensation for your payment of medical bills, pain and suffering, lost wages and other expenses.
In the state of California, the statute of limitations for personal injury cases is 2 years. So, within 2 years you must bring a case against the other party or your claims may be barred and you won't be able to pursue it ever again. California personal injury law is a comparative fault jurisdiction. If a plaintiff is partially at-fault for his or her own injuries or accident, then a plaintiff’s recovery of damages will be reduced by his or her percentage of fault.
CAR & MOTORCYCLE ACCIDENTS
After someone has been involved in a car or motorcycle accident, he or she can file a claim against the responsible party’s insurance company or can file a lawsuit against the responsible party and prove their damages in court right away. In many instances, settling out of court is the preferable option due to time and monetary concerns. If the other party does not admit to being at fault and the matter proceeds to court through the filing of a lawsuit, the plaintiff has the burden of proof to show that the defendant was negligent in some manner (not paying adequate attention while driving), thus, causing the accident. The plaintiff also has the burden to prove injuries and damages caused by the other party. Learn more
SLIPS AND FALLS INJURIES
A Slip and Fall case can be defined as an injury that occurs from an individual slipping and falling as a result of the negligence or wrong-doing of another party. There is also a statute of limitations for slip and fall cases, they need to be filed within 2 years of the date the incident happened. Remember filing a claim against a governmental entity in California (ex. slip and fall as a result of a road or construction defect), you have to file a claim for damages with the government entity within 6 months of the incident date. Learn more
DOG BITE INJURIES
In the State of California, dog bite statute makes the dog owner “strictly liable” for the injuries that occur as a result of their dog biting an individual who is either in a public place or lawfully in a private place. “Strict Liability” means that the owner can’t argue that he or she did not know that their dog would bite someone or behave in an aggressive fashion. If you're a dog bite victim, there are certain limitations, so you'll need to file you claim ASAP. A clear example of limitations include you trespassing on private property at the time of the dog bite incident. In this situation, you won't be able to file a claim for any damages or injuries. Learn more